How Old Do You Have to Be to Buy CBD?

How Old Do You Have to Be to Buy CBD?
How Old Do You Have to Be to Buy CBD?

Did you know that cannabidiol (CBD) is one of the most commonly used plant compounds throughout the country?  Well, now you do, as people are discovering CBD’s array of potential benefits on a daily basis.  Also, because of that, our industry is thriving.  But, the question on some people’s minds is, “how old do you have to be to buy CBD?”  It’s a good question indeed.  If you’re a minor who is eager to get some relief through the hemp plant, or you’re wondering if your child is able to make a purchase for themselves, let’s find out how old to buy CBD in the United States.

Is CBD Legal for Minors?

First and foremost, let’s talk about federal law.  With the passing of the 2018 Farm Bill, the United States legalized all hemp-based products containing a maximum of 0.3% delta 9 THC by dry weight, without any limits on the types of products that can be sold, how strong they can be, how much a person may possess, or how much they may purchase.  Another area in which federal law is lenient is age limit.  Why?  Because there is no age limit when it comes to buying CBD products, at least on a federal level.

Can You Buy CBD at 18? Or Do You Have to Be 21 to Buy CBD?

So, before running off and purchasing some CBD as a minor because of federal law, there is one thing that can change your ability to buy.  Each state is free to make their own laws regarding hemp, and if you’re wondering, “do you have to be 18 to buy CBD”, the answer may or may not be yes depending on where you live.  And, that’s where things get tricky.

Each state has their own age limit when it comes to buying hemp products, if they have an age limit at all.  And, to make matters a little more confusing, these laws can change at any time.  The hemp industry is still new enough that many states are still “figuring it out” as they go, making adjustments to laws here and there, often to the surprise of their residents.

So, do you have to be 18 to buy CBD products in states that do have an age limit?  Not necessarily.  Some states consider the appropriate age limit to be 18, while other states have made it 21.  But, one thing to keep in mind is that this is about buying CBD.  There’s really no restrictions when it comes to administering CBD to a minor, although administering a THC compound to a minor remains illegal throughout the country.

Why is There a CBD Age Limit in Manty States?

Each state has their own motivations when it comes to crafting their hemp laws.  Typically, more conservative states have more conservative hemp laws, including stricter age restrictions when it comes to making purchases.  CBD is non-intoxicating and nontoxic to people of all ages, with extremely limited risks when it comes to side effects.  In other words, it’s not like alcohol, which is particularly harmful to minors and is easy to use irresponsibly. 

How Old Do You Have to Be to Purchase CBD?

What we can offer is a breakdown of each state’s CBD-related age restrictions as they exist today.  But again, keep in mind that these states can change their laws at any time, which is why you’ll want to keep an eye out should the age limit change at a certain point.

  • Alaska: 21 years old
  • Arizona: No age limit
  • Arkansas: No age limit
  • California: 18 years old
  • Colorado: 18 years old
  • Connecticut: 18 years old
  • Delaware: 18 years old
  • Florida: 18 years old
  • Georgia: 18 years old
  • Hawaii: 18 years old
  • Idaho: 18 years old
  • Illinois: 21 years old
  • Indiana: 21 years old
  • Iowa: No age limit
  • Kansas: 18 years old
  • Kentucky: 18 years old
  • Louisiana: 18 years old
  • Maine: 21 years old
  • Maryland: No age limit
  • Massachusetts: 18 years old
  • Michigan: 18 years old
  • Minnesota: 18 years old
  • Mississippi: 18 years old
  • Missouri: No age limit
  • Montana: 18 years old
  • Nebraska: No age limit
  • Nevada: 18 years old
  • New Hampshire: 18 years old
  • New Jersey: 18 years old
  • New Mexico: 18 years old
  • New York: 18 years old
  • North Carolina: 18 years old
  • North Dakota: 18 years old
  • Ohio: 18 years old
  • Oklahoma: 18 years old
  • Oregon: 18 years old
  • Pennsylvania: 18 years old
  • Rhode Island: 21 years old
  • South Carolina: 18 years old
  • South Dakota: 18 years old
  • Tennessee: 21 years old
  • Texas: No age limit
  • Utah: 21 years old
  • Vermont: 18 years old
  • Virginia: No age limit
  • Washington: 18 years old
  • West Virginia: No age limit
  • Wisconsin: 18 years old
  • Wyoming: 18 years old

Bottom Line: The Age to Buy CBD Depends on Where You Live

Ultimately, it’s up to each state to decide how old a person must be in order to make a purchase of CBD.  Most states require that you’re at least 18 years of age, while others require 21 and over, and others that don’t have any limit whatsoever.  Find your state on the list above to decide whether or not you’re able to purchase CBD either online or in-person based on where you’re located.

0
    0
    Your Cart
    Your cart is empty